NC State UniversityCollege of Sciences
Department of Mathematics
Mathematics Home
About Us
Talks and Events
Courses and Help
Summer Programs+
K - 12 Outreach
Computing Resources
Mathematics Resources
Faculty/Staff Resources
Support the Department
Contact Us

flow pass a cylinder with Reynolds number 200. The simulation was done using the augmented immersed interface method.

De Los Reyes wins Astronaut Scholarship

Junior applied mathematics and physics major Mithi (Mia) De Los Reyes has been named the 2014 NC State Astronaut Scholarship winner. Astronaut Scholarships are awarded annually by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation to one student at each of 27 leading US universities. They are intended "to ensure that the United States would maintain its leadership in science and technology by supporting some of the very best science and engineering college students." Mia is also a Park Scholar and has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship.


NSF features work of Jenkins and Fowler

The National Science Foundation's Mathematical Discoveries web page features several NSF-funded projects each year to help demonstrate how "NSF's public investment in science, engineering, education and technology helps to create knowledge and sustain prosperity." The latest story describes mathematical modeling work by five mathematicians, including NC State Ph.D.'s Lea Jenkins (Clemson University) and Katie Fowler (Clarkson University), that is helping California berry farmers use water more efficiently during California's current drought. Dan Balbas, a berry grower, says, "You've got a given resource, so how do you maximize it to maintain sustainability and do the right thing from an economic and environmental standpoint, marrying the two. It's math. It really is math."

Duca wins Outstanding Teacher Award

Mathematics Professor Alina Duca is one of 19 NC State faculty to win a 2013-2014 Outstanding Teacher Award. The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels, and confers membership in NC State's Academy of Outstanding Teachers.

NC State awarded nonproliferation grant

NC State has been awarded a five-year, $25 million federal grant to lead the new Consortium for Nonproliferation Enabling Capabilities, a group of universities and national labs that will conduct research and education relevant to preventing the spread of nuclear weapons. Nine NC State faculty are involved in the project, including Mathematics Professor Ralph Smith and Statistics Professor Alyson Wilson. At NC State the grant will annually support two undergraduates, 13 graduate students and five post-doctoral fellows. NC State was selected by the National Nuclear Security Administration over 22 competitors.


November 2012 Alumni Newsletter

More News

Submit News Item

Procedures for Fire Evacuation and Severe Weather Sheltering


2006 NC State Departmental Award
for Teaching and Learning Excellence

2010 American Mathematical Society Award for an Exemplary Program or Achievement
in a Mathematics Department

2011 American Mathematical Society Award for Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference

New Math and Statistics Building

SAS Hall, Home of the Mathematics and Statistics Departments

The Mathematics and Statistics Departments moved into state-of-the-art SAS Hall in May 2009. An article in the PAMS magazine SCOPE tells how the new building is changing life in the two departments.The story behind SAS hall is here. More SAS Hall photos here. Photos by Ted Branoff of SAS Hall under construction are here.

NC State Mathematics Awards Program
The Mathematics Department held their Honors/Awards program on April 21, 2014. Photos are available online.

NC State Mathematics Graduation
The Mathematics Departmental Graduation was held on Friday, May 9 at 3:00 p.m. in 2203 SAS Hall. Pictures and video from the graduation are online.

Special Events

Nothing Scheduled

Today's Events (07-26-2014)

Nothing Scheduled

2108 SAS Hall  Directions  |  Box 8205  |  Raleigh, North Carolina 27695  |  Phone (919) 515-2382  |  Fax (919) 513-7336  |  E-mail Webmaster
©  North Carolina State University. All rights reserved.